madeleone: (Default)
Happy Halloween today and thanks to everyone who sent birthday wishes, v-gifts, and gorgeous art ([livejournal.com profile] mywitch) yesterday.

I had a lovely quiet day at home reading, knitting, and just hanging out. I heard from all four of my kids (even my oldest son who is notorious for remembering my b'day usually three days later.) He and his kids left a birthday serenade on my voicemail.

I made a pot of Chicken Gnocchi soup for dinner. (It was delicious. The recipe claims that it's even better than Olive Garden's. I've honestly never had theirs, but it has become one of my favorite soups). Younger son T came out to hunt after school (he's a teacher) and stayed for dinner, so that was nice.

I got a amazon gift card from my baby J and her family, along with a video card that was adorable of her three and five-year-old singing Happy B'day to me, and also had nice long call with them. And I had Skyped earlier with older daughter K and grandkids and opened their gift that arrived in the mail (picture below). I was quite excited about this as I have quite a collection of HP funco dolls, but I'll have to wait until Dec.1st to play with it as it's an Advent calender. Perhaps I'll post a pic each day when I open them ala Gingerbred, as she did last year with her lego calender. So all in all I had a very nice birthday.

madeleone: (Default)



Wow! 2020 has not been kind to Michigan. First we were hit hard by the corona virus, seventh highest in the country for confirmed cases and fourth highest in deaths. Now this week there have been devastating flooding in the tri-county area where I live.



We had heavy rains over last weekend that caused the rivers to rise to high levels. Our lowlands were flooded, but that isn't unusual here, it happens several time a year but usually drains fairly quickly, in fact the water down there is now gone except for a few low pockets. The river abuts our property but the we are built on a high ridge 30 ft above the lowland and about 200 yards from the river banks.

Read more... )

madeleone: (Default)
I'm more of a lurker than a poster but this deserves an update. I became a grandma again today, for the sixth time. Three of my four kids now have two each, coincidentally each has a boy and a girl in that order, (what's the odds of that I wonder?) Their ages are 7, 4.5, 3, 1.5, 9 months, and one day old.

Anyway here is our newest bundle of joy, born around noon today, Delaney Rose K., 8lb.4oz, 20'' long. Baby and Mom are doing fine.
Read more... )
madeleone: (Default)
I hadn't menioned it before but hubby and I are off on a trip. It was sort of a last minute adventure, which I didn't plan or make reservations for until just before Christmas. See, I had a Delta travel voucher where when you buy one round trip continental US ticket, you get a companion fare for free(pluss taxes etc.) BUT, it was going to expire Jan 31, so I had to start exploring ideas quickly. I really liked what we did when we went to Scotland and Ireland last year--we rented a car and stayed in cottages and explored the area we were in. So I started exploring similar choices and found Home Away. We were interested in Arizona, as it is somewhere we've never been before. Anyway I found this listing Near Kingman AZ for a guest house rental on an ostrich ranch. Yeah, I know weird, right? Well, guess where I am right now? Yup, that's right the Joshua Tree Ostrich Ranch and Guesthouse. And getting here turned out to be more difficult than I ever expected due to some flight delays.

clicky-clicky )
madeleone: (Default)
Thanks to all who posted Birthday wishes here and/or on FB, or messaged me greetings or virtual gifts. It made my day to to hear from so many friends. :D

Hubby took me out to lunch and then we went to the casino. I didn't win big but didn't lose too much either and had a fun time. I got phone calls from 3 of my 4 kids which was nice. #4 is coming over tomorrow and bringing chinese take out for lunch to celebrate both our birthdays, as his was earlier in the month while we were away on our trip.

Speaking of our trip I still have lots of pics to post and promise to get around to it eventually. Getting back to RL is an adjustment, the time difference threw my internal clock all out of whack but after nearly two weeks things are starting to even out. Now we change off of daylight savings time this weekend and it will be out of whack again. It has actually been snowing here today on and off, not enough to stick or anything, but still is is disturbing to see those white flakes flying so early in the season!
madeleone: (Default)
It seems like all I ever post these days are birthday greetings so I thought I'd do a RL update.

I must say, things sure seem very quiet here on LJ lately and I am feeling a little sad and thinking that it might be a sign that our fandom is winding down, (at least in our little corner of it). So many people on my flist seem to have either left fanfic entirely or moved on to other fandoms. I suppose that's to be expected after awhile, but so far HP is the only fandom that has really interested me so I am still hanging around. It is still nice to hear what's going on with the friends I've made while hanging out here in the make-believe world.

Looks like this turned out to be a longer update than I'd planned, so putting the rest under the cut just so as not to clutter up my flist. :)
Clicky clicky )
madeleone: (Default)

Well there has been a lot of stuff going on and I really have not updated on LJ for quite awhile, so here goes. For anyone interested there will be lots of rambling about RL so I'm putting this under the cut to spare the flist.

blah, blah,blah... )

I'm Back!

Jul. 5th, 2010 05:38 pm
madeleone: (Default)
I got back yesterday from my 5 day camping trip and am FINALLY getting caught up with the exchange and my flist.

I do love to camp, and it was lovely getting to spend time with my girls and both their boyfriends, but it is hard to be without internet for that length of time. (I'm an internet junkie, I must admit). Anyway, back home and have another day off (yay!) before I have to return to work, so am just going to relax and enjoy the quiet time to myself. :)

I'm Back!

Jul. 5th, 2010 05:38 pm
madeleone: (hermione ponders)
I got back yesterday from my 5 day camping trip and am FINALLY getting caught up with the exchange and my flist.

I do love to camp, and it was lovely getting to spend time with my girls and both their boyfriends, but it is hard to be without internet for that length of time. (I'm an internet junkie, I must admit). Anyway, back home and have another day off (yay!) before I have to return to work, so am just going to relax and enjoy the quiet time to myself. :)

I'm Back!

Jul. 5th, 2010 05:38 pm
madeleone: (hermione ponders)
I got back yesterday from my 5 day camping trip and am FINALLY getting caught up with the exchange and my flist.

I do love to camp, and it was lovely getting to spend time with my girls and both their boyfriends, but it is hard to be without internet for that length of time. (I'm an internet junkie, I must admit). Anyway, back home and have another day off (yay!) before I have to return to work, so am just going to relax and enjoy the quiet time to myself. :)

Profile

madeleone: (Default)
madeleone

April 2024

S M T W T F S
 12 3456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 04:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios